Campus Buildings; Virginia Normal and Collegiate Institute
Built for the owner of the Fleet Farm in 1834. The building became known as the Griffin House, after John Griffin bought the tract in 1879. It was purchased for Virginia Normal and Collegiate Institute in 1882. It was converted into the main...
Mills; Pre-Civil War; Industrial History; Virginia Normal and Collegiate Institute
This is a view of Fleets Hill in 1883, as seen from Petersburg across the Appomattox River. This picture shows some of the many mills operating from water power along the Appomattox in Ettrick and Petersburg from the mid-1840s through the 1890s.
Faculty Housing; Virginia Normal and Industrial Institute
This is the oldest building standing on campus. Built in 1906-1907 as a residence for the president of the school, it was the second major building erected, the first being the Main Building (Old Virginia Hall, begun in 1883 and completed in...
Bennett Hall, A Dormitory For Women, Was Named In Memory Of Miss Bell H. Bennett; Name Changed To Harper House In 1962 And Served As A Dormitory For Men Until 1971. The Building Was Demolished In 1977.